Starting a Gluten-free Food Regimen for Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is a condition in which an immune reaction is produced after eating foods containing gluten, which is usually found in wheat, barley or rye. It is also identified as gluten intolerance. When eating gluten-rich foods, the small intestine becomes inflamed, damaging its lining and preventing the absorption of other nutrients. Because of this condition, a gluten-free diet is strictly necessary.

It may be difficult to start a gluten-free diet, but with proper understanding of what foods contain gluten, it would be easy to adjust to a gluten-free lifestyle. Here are some guidelines that can help you cope with having a gluten-free diet.

First, you must read up on which foods are rich in gluten, which you must definitely avoid. This, of course, includes wheat, barley, rye, and other food that has such ingredients, such as cereals, wheat bread, malt extract and oatmeal. A more comprehensive list of foods you cannot eat can be found in medical websites or books.

If you already know what food you should not eat, it is also necessary to know which food you must eat. Many fruits, vegetables, meat, seafood and dairy are naturally gluten-free, so it is safe to eat those kinds of food. However, if it is already processed to make other food products, you need to be cautious to check the ingredients of such product.

If you are asking if you can still eat baked products because most of the baking materials are made from flour, the answer is yes, you can still eat baked products if, and only if, it is gluten-free. There are baking ingredients that are gluten-free, such as corn flour, potato flour and potato starch. Just make sure that you check the ingredients before you eat a baked product.

If you cannot find the list of ingredients, then it is best not to eat such food product. Remember that even a small amount can cause an immune response against your small intestine.

Another thing you must remember is that when a product says that it is wheat-free, it does not mean that it is gluten-free. It may still contain barley or rye, which also contains gluten.

Lastly, food contamination is another important thing to remember. When food is prepared using the same utensils as in food containing gluten, it is more likely that the food can also be contaminated with gluten. Using the same oil in cooking the food can also be another source of contamination. In addition, wheat flour can stay in the air for several hours, and preparing food in the same environment can cause gluten contamination. In this case, if you are not sure how the food is prepared, then it is advised that you do not eat such food. As much as possible, you eat food that you yourself or your family prepared.

Having a gluten-free lifestyle is really challenging because you need to be knowledgeable of the food you must and must not eat, which takes some effort from you. If still doubtful, you can consult for the help of a doctor or a dietician to plan your daily meals.


No Responses to “Starting a Gluten-free Food Regimen for Celiac Disease”




By submitting a comment here you grant QueensChildren Library of Health Articles a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate comments will be removed at admin's discretion.